The Franz von Liszt Institute for International Criminal Justice

June 21 & 22, 2021 | International Workshop „International Criminal Justice – A Counter-Hegemonic Project?“

News

Event

On 21. and 22 June, 2021, the international workshop "International Criminal Justice – A Counter-Hegemonic Project?" will take place.

Event

In the context of the Humboldt International Criminal Law Discussion Group, several guest lectures will take place in the summer semester 2021.

Publication

Neil Boister, Sabine Gless & Florian Jeßberger (eds.), Histories of Transnational Criminal Law, Oxford University Press, 2021 (forthcoming).

Publication

G. Werle & F. Jeßberger, Das Strafgesetz, Geltungsbereich (§§ 3-10), in: G. Cirener et al. (ed.), Leipziger Kommentar, Großkommentar zum Strafgesetzbuch, Erster Band, De Gruyter, 13th ed. 2020.

Publication

Florian Jeßberger & Julia Geneuss (eds.), Why Punish Perpetrators of Mass Atrocities? Purposes of Punishment in International Criminal Law, Cambridge University Press, 2020.

About

The Institute

The Franz von Liszt Institute serves as a hub for the activities carried out at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in the field of international criminal law and justice. Thematic focus areas include international criminal law, European criminal law, foreign and comparative criminal law as well as the international aspects of German criminal law.

The Institute is named after criminal law and international law scholar Franz von Liszt, who taught from 1898 until his death in 1919 at what was then called Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität, today’s Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

The Institute has an extensive collection of criminal law literature and offers visiting scholars the opportunity to conduct research stays.

The Institute hosts the Humboldt International Criminal Law Discussion Group, which on a regular basis invites academics and practitioners from Germany and abroad to present their research or to discuss current issues relating to their work.

The Institute was established at the Faculty of Law of the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin in the early 2000s. It is primarily funded by the Chair in Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure Law, International Criminal Law and Modern Legal History.

People

Prof. Dr. Florian Jeßberger serves as the Institute’s Director.

Members of the Institute are Prof. Dr. Martin Heger, Prof. Dr. Gerhard Werle and several Post-docs from Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. An international advisory board supports the work of the Institute. The Institute welcomes guest researchers and visiting scholars from around the world who would like to take advantage of its extensive library and networking resources and enhance their independent research projects.

People

Further activities

African-German Research Network for Transnational Criminal Justice

The research network offers LL.M. and PhD alumni of the South African-German Center for Transnational Criminal Justice the opportunity for sustainable academic networking. Prof. Werle is director of the network, Dr. Epik is a member of the advisory board.

Further activities

Prof. Heger is co-editor of the bilingual open access publication.

Further activities

Prof. Werle and Prof. Jeßberger are members of the editorial board of the journal published by Juta.

Franz-von-Liszt-Institut für Internationales Strafrecht

Robert Kempner-Preis 2022 | Ausschreibung durch den Arbeitskreis Völkerstrafrecht | Weitere Informationen hier.

Aktuelles

Tagung

Vom 30. September bis 2. Oktober 2021 veranstaltet Prof. Jeßberger gemeinsam mit Prof. Meloni an der Universität Mailand ein Humboldt-Kolleg mit dem Titel "Domesticating International Criminal Justice – Current Challenges".

Symposium

Am 20. und 21. September 2021 veranstaltet Prof. Jeßberger das Symposium "Jenseits von Nürnberg: Deutschland, sein koloniales Erbe und das Strafrecht".

Workshop

Am 21. und 22. Juni 2021 veranstaltet Prof. Jeßberger den internationale Workshop "International Criminal Justice – A Counter-Hegemonic Project?".

Discussion Group

Im Rahmen der Humboldt International Criminal Law Discussion Group finden im SoSe 2021 mehrere Gastvorträge statt.

Über

Das Institut

Das Franz-von-Liszt-Institut bündelt die an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin durchgeführten Aktivitäten auf dem Gebiet des Internationalen Strafrechts. Bearbeitet werden insbesondere die Themenfelder Völkerstrafrecht, Europäisches Strafrecht, ausländisches und vergleichendes Strafrecht sowie die internationalen Bezügen des deutschen Strafrechts.

Namensgebend für das Institut ist der Straf- und Völkerrechtler Franz von Liszt, der von 1898 bis zu seinem Tod im Jahre 1919 an der damaligen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität, der heutigen Humboldt- Universität zu Berlin, lehrte und forschte.

Das Institut verfügt über eine umfangreiche Sammlung strafrechtlicher Literatur und bietet Gastwissenschaftler*innen die Möglichkeit zu Forschungsaufenthalten.

Im Rahmen der Humboldt International Criminal Law Discussion Group werden regelmäßig Wissenschaftler*innen und Praktiker*innen aus dem In- und Ausland eingeladen, um ihre Forschungsergebnisse vorzustellen oder über aktuelle Fragen ihrer Tätigkeit zu berichten.

Das Institut wurde Anfang der 2000er Jahre an der Juristischen Fakultät der Humboldt- Universität zu Berlin eingerichtet. Es  stützt sich im Wesentlichen auf die Ressourcen des Lehrstuhls für Strafrecht, Strafprozessrecht, Internationales Strafrecht und Juristische Zeitgeschichte.

Personen

Direktor des Instituts ist Prof. Dr. Florian Jeßberger.

Dem Institut gehören ferner Prof. Dr. Martin Heger, Prof. Dr. Gerhard Werle sowie weitere Wissenschaftler*innen  der Humboldt-Universität an. Ein internationaler Beirat steht dem Institut beratend zur Seite. Am Institut forschen regelmäßig Gastwissenschaftler*innen.

Personen

Weitere Aktivitäten

African-German Research Network for Transnational Criminal Justice

Das Forschungsnetzwerk bietet den LL.M.- und PhD-Alumni des South African-German Centre for Transnational Criminal Justice die Möglichkeit zur nachhaltigen wissenschaftlichen Vernetzung. Prof. Werle ist Direktor des Forschungsnetzwerks, Dr. Epik Mitglied des Beirats.

Weitere Aktivitäten

Prof. Heger ist Mitherausgeber der zweisprachigen Open Access-Publikation.

Weitere Aktivitäten

Prof. Werle und Prof. Jeßberger gehören dem Editorial Board der bei Juta verlegten Zeitschrift an.